Three Month Rule

Been here at home for almost 3 months now. I found new songs that I added in my Spotify playlists I recently created, hearing new podcasts, admiring new people that are inspiring me and discovering new things and new goals which began rising up in my heart too. And, I think, I’ve given myself three months before waking up in my bed and embracing the new season of my life.

It happened that before the quarantine period and several months before I started blogging again, I resigned from my job and submitted my resignation letter. It was a personal decision after four years of passionately doing my job. That’s why, I know I am free to do what I wanted to do without thinking what time should I wake up and the fear of being late because of traffic jam.

I started cleaning up my space here and I learned there were so many things I’ve been keeping for so long. I think, it’s time to throw away and to keep – to throw away things that I shouldn’t want to remember after five months and to keep good things that will remind me of good memories after five years. Actually, even in my laptop, there were so much files that I don’t want to keep anymore, because my laptop needs so much space plus it sometimes went black when I turned on the button.

Moreover, I wanted to concentrate in vocabulary building of Hebrew words and I am very glad that I am learning some of it during this quarantine season. Two of those words are “todah rabah” which means “thank you” and the other one is “tikkun olam” which means “world repair”. (If you know these words and I put them in a wrong way, please do correct me.) It is a right timing in this new season for me, that I’ve been learning new different things which I never learned before the pandemic occurred. Aside from cleaning up my space, I am also creating new atmosphere at home and tried to do some changes in my small area.

Five years ago, most of us never saw these things would happen in a snap of fingers. There were so many plans that frustrated us because they didn’t happen and made us worried because they might no longer happen. There were so many drastic changes that happen in three months. That’s why, I’m missing my closest friends I weren’t able to see for a very long time since the start of quarantine. I wanted to see them all and hear those strong prayers for each other again. I am missing those days that we hanged out and just walked around the streets in BGC and went home with smiles on my face and with a cup of Jamba or Coffee Bean Tea and Leaf mango juice on my hand. Perhaps, those days, late at night bonding and quality time spent with my closest friends were actually preparation for these months. But, we can’t do them all now. There’s no specific place where we can properly meet together and see ourselves embracing one another once again. Whenever I saw those posts of people who are working in our church building, I felt the nostalgic feeling I never had before. It was like, “Oh, I remember this and that, but I just need to pray and hope that I am going to see them all soon.”

Yet, it’s all amazing that we’re learning new things and almost forgetting what we’ve used to do three months ago. I miss going to places which I’ve been used to and our church building is just near several shopping malls, restaurants, milk tea shops and cafeterias which I used to pass by too. Also, sleeping late at night was just an idea for me that came true. Sometimes, I wanted to go back to my old routine, but I find it very, very difficult. Have you felt that way? Sometimes, we wanted to go back in able for us to move forward.

It’s time to enjoy and to embrace the new season which God has prepared for us, since long ago before the creation of the world.

Leave a comment